It is within us!

Thus through the righteous law of the Spirit of Life in Christ Jesus,” he says, “I was and am made free from the body of sin and death; andthrough these great tribulations, my garments are washed and made white in the blood of the Lamb, who has led me into the new Jerusalem,where no one enters that works abomination or speaks a lie, but those whose name is written in the Lamb’s book of life. Here my soul nowfeeds upon the tree of life, which I had so long hungered and thirsted after, that stands in the paradise of God. Here there is no more curse nor night; but the Lord God and the Lamb are my light and life forever and ever! And I witness that I am regenerated and born again of the immortal seed, and having partaken of the first resurrection, over such the second death has no power.

From the writings of another early Quaker, William Dewsbury.

Thus through the righteous law of the Spirit of Life in Christ Jesus,” he says, “I was and am made free from the body of sin and death; andthrough these great tribulations, my garments are washed and made white in the blood of the Lamb, who has led me into the new Jerusalem,where no one enters that works abomination or speaks a lie, but those whose name is written in the Lamb’s book of life. Here my soul nowfeeds upon the tree of life, which I had so long hungered and thirsted after, that stands in the paradise of God. Here there is no more curse nor night; but the Lord God and the Lamb are my light and life forever and ever! And I witness that I am regenerated and born again of the immortal seed, and having partaken of the first resurrection, over such the second death has no power.

From the writings of another early Quaker, William Dewsbury.

Leave a Reply

